Archive for ‘DUI & Traffic’

November 25, 2013

Hiring an Attorney for Traffic Violations

Depending on the severity of a traffic violation, it can be wise to consult with an attorney regarding the violation so that you can have a better understanding of your case and your violation and representation in court. Violations range from local to federal level statutes and minor infractions in terms of these violations can cost you from around $100 to $200 and a few points on your driving record. In instances like these, it may not be worth it to spend the money for an attorney.

However, in instances of major and criminal infractions, hiring an attorney is well worth it when your license may be revoked and an extended period of time without being able to drive could cost you more.

read more »

Advertisements
November 19, 2013

Exception for Employer-Owned Vehicles No Longer Applies With Regard to Ignition Interlock Devices

In most circumstances, a person convicted of a DUI in Arizona cannot drive a motor vehicle without a functioning certified ignition interlock device for at least 12 months. Prior to September 13, 2013, a person required to install an interlock device in their vehicle could drive their employer-owned vehicle(s) in the course and scope of their employment without an interlock device as long as they had proof that they notified their employer of any driving restrictions they had as a result of their DUI conviction. As of September 13, however, the exception for employer-owned vehicles no longer applies. Now, if you’re convicted of a DUI, an interlock device must be installed in any company vehicle you drive. It does not appear that employers must comply with this requirement, meaning your job may be in jeopardy if you are convicted of a DUI.  

If you are charged with a DUI offense, you face a number of possible consequences: jail time, fees and fines, driving restrictions, and more. An attorney can help you navigate through this process and discuss the alternatives available to you each step of the way. If you would like to speak with one of the attorneys at the Carroll Law Firm, please call our office at (623)551-9366.

October 28, 2013

Teen Drivers

Getting a learner’s permit and driver’s license are rites of passage for many teenagers.  Parents need to know the law as it pertains to their teen drivers.

Children generally can get their instruction permit when they’re 15 ½ years old.  If the child’s parents are married to each other, usually only one parent needs to sign their child’s permit application.  If the child’s parents are divorced and both parents have custody, both parents must sign their child’s permit application. The child must pass a written test and a vision exam to get their permit.  When the child is driving, a licensed driver at least 21 years old must sit in the front passenger seat.  Children generally can apply for their driver’s license when they turn 16, provided that they have had their permit for six months and completed at least 30 hours of supervised driving practice, with at least 10 of those hours occurring at night.

read more »

October 19, 2013

Texting While Driving in Arizona

Though the dangers of texting and driving are now well known and firmly established, and despite the introduction of several bills geared towards formally banning texting while behind the wheel, Arizona remains one of nine states that has yet to adopt a formal texting while driving ban. While the issue of whether or not such a ban is appropriate continues to be debated, the lack of a formal ban on texting and driving does not necessarily absolve a driver of any liability should texting lead to an accident, thanks to Arizona’s statutes regarding reckless driving.

Current Arizona reckless driving statutes state that an individual is guilty of reckless driving if they operate a vehicle “in reckless disregard for the safety of persons or property.” Those convicted of reckless driving are guilty of a class 2 misdemeanor, and, if certain aggravating factors apply, a conviction could result in a jail sentence.

read more »

August 22, 2013

Do I Need to Hire an Attorney?

In Arizona, there are many self-service forms available for certain areas of law. There are also certified legal document preparers who can draft certain legal forms. These services tend to have lower up-front costs than attorneys. Unfortunately, however, a person can end up paying more in the long run by failing to hire an attorney now.

read more »