Posts tagged ‘personal injury’

October 28, 2013

Teen Drivers

Getting a learner’s permit and driver’s license are rites of passage for many teenagers.  Parents need to know the law as it pertains to their teen drivers.

Children generally can get their instruction permit when they’re 15 ½ years old.  If the child’s parents are married to each other, usually only one parent needs to sign their child’s permit application.  If the child’s parents are divorced and both parents have custody, both parents must sign their child’s permit application. The child must pass a written test and a vision exam to get their permit.  When the child is driving, a licensed driver at least 21 years old must sit in the front passenger seat.  Children generally can apply for their driver’s license when they turn 16, provided that they have had their permit for six months and completed at least 30 hours of supervised driving practice, with at least 10 of those hours occurring at night.

read more »

April 5, 2013

Golf Cart Collisions

Golf carts are a common mode of transport in the Valley of the Sun and not just on the golf course. Arizona’s climate and weather make it the perfect state for an increased number of golf carts, and the development of communities where golf carts are second vehicles to the people who live there as contributes to an increase in the number of golf carts on the road.  Del Webb has created several fast growing retirement communities in and around the Valley and allows residents to own and drive golf carts on roadways and designated pathways.  These carts are equipped with headlights and turn signals.

Arizona has enacted statutes to control driving of golf carts on roadways and requiring minimum liability insurance coverage. A.R.S. §§28-4009 & 28-4132.  Arizona law precludes golf carts from driving on public roads with a speed limit over 35 mph. A.R.S. §28-966.  Arizona motorists are required by law to treat golf carts as they would any other bicyclist or pedestrian sharing the road.  Golf carts and their drivers share the same legal rights as any other motor vehicle.

read more »

February 20, 2013

Do’s and Don’ts Following a Collision

The following is a list of do’s and don’ts that can help you protect your interests if you are ever in a collision.

DO everything in your power to make sure a police report is filed.  The police report will be needed for everything from the name of the other driver, the other driver’s insurance company and policy number, the names and contact information for witnesses and others involved in the collision (including passengers), etc.  Further, because police reports often mean more physical damage to vehicles, insurance companies tend offer more money for injuries sustained in collisions with a police report.

read more »

May 10, 2012

You’ve Decided to Hire an Attorney for your Personal Injury… Now what?

You’ve been injured in an accident. You’ve met with an attorney, who has decided to represent you. Now what?

The process of recovery for a personal injury is necessarily drawn out in many cases. There is a great deal of fact-finding and information gathering required before a settlement can be discussed. Generally, an attorney will consider certain factors and information when determining the merit of a particular case and a ball park of what amount the injured party may be able to recover as some form of relief.

read more »

May 9, 2012

If You’ve Been Injured, It May Not Be in Your Best Interest to Accept a Settlement without Speaking to an Attorney First

Accidents and injuries are unfortunate events that most of us have to deal with at some point in our lives.  Over the years, our attorneys have helped hundreds of clients obtain fair compensation for their losses.  We have represented individuals involved in a wide array of matters including  motor vehicle accidents, slip and falls from improperly maintained premises, animal bite injuries, and a host of similar matters.  

read more »